Users can now leave group chats silently without notifying the entire group. Only the admins of the chat group will be notified.
WhatsApp users can also choose who can see when they are online on WhatsApp. Both features will be rolling out to all users this month.
Meta chief executive Mark Zuckerberg the Meta-owned messaging service stated that the new feature is to give its users more control over their conversations on the app.
Mr Zuckerberg said this would help keep WhatsApp messaging “as private and secure as face-to-face conversations”.
It will begin rolling out the features this month, highlighting them in a global campaign, starting in the UK.
He explained that the features will also make a screenshot on messages set to delete after it has been read or viewed once. The view once features which were rolled out last year in August will now have an added layer of privacy.
“Now we’re enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an added layer of protection. We’re testing this feature now and are excited to roll it out to users soon,” it stated.
The last privacy feature will allow users to control who can see them when they are online, a feature that will roll out to users this month.