Connect with us
Grow Business

AbdulRazaq Launches Palliative Committee, Stresses Nonpartisan Transparency



AbdulRazaq Launches Palliative Committee, Stresses Nonpartisan Transparency

The duration for completing the assignment will be influenced by various factors

Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State on Tuesday launched the 12-member committee tasked with overseeing the distribution of the N5 billion federal government’s palliative funds within our state.

AbdulRazaq, through his Chief Press Secretary, Rafiu Ajakaye, disclosed that the governor emphasized that his administration remains dedicated to ensuring that the distribution process remains entirely unbiased, transparent, and trustworthy.

Over the weekend, the state government established the committee, just a day after the federal government’s announcement of nationwide palliative, which  include N4 billion worth of rice and maize sourced from the strategic maize reserve (SMR), with a minimum value of N1 billion

The Governor said the palliative is only one of the many steps the government has taken to relieve people of the difficulties arising from the fuel subsidy removal and strengthen the economy.

“It is important to clarify that food palliatives are only a stopgap measure to show empathy and reach out to the people, especially the most vulnerable ones among us. It is not the only step the government has taken since the removal of fuel subsidy. Government is committing huge resources to hasten mass production and use of gas and electricity-powered vehicles nationwide as well boost agricultural productivity, manufacturing, and small and medium scale enterprises. We are in this together, and I plead that we work together as one people bounded by one destiny to get over this current challenge,” AbdulRazaq told the committee.

More Afrika Eyes News  Garment Factory In Kwara Will Create 2,000 Jobs’-AbdulRazaq

“We have set up this committee to make the process of distributing palliative as nonpartisan, transparent, participatory and credible as humanly possible. We trust your judgment and commitment to make the palliatives to reach the nearest and farthest corners of our state.”

AbdulRazaq, however, commended members of the committee for accepting to serve the state, urging them to make Kwara a shining example and saying that other states are already adopting the modalities of the Kwara State Government.

More Afrika Eyes News  Ketanji Brown Jackson: US Senate Confirms First Black Woman To Supreme Court

The committee’s terms of reference include reaching out to different stakeholders and communities, including labour unions and trade unions, and marketers, to generate a list of beneficiaries that would be as representative as possible. The committee, among other things, will also coordinate and distribute the rice palliative in 10kg bags as well as advise the government on the best way to handle the maize component of the palliative.

The duration for completing the assignment will be influenced by various factors, such as the receipt of the balance of N2bn to be given to the state, which would then be used to purchase new consignments of the foodstuffs, according to the terms of reference.

Addressing the committee on behalf of its members, Commissioner of Police Ebunoluwa Rotimi Adelesi expressed gratitude, saying, “We thank His Excellency for founding us worthy and for having the trust in us to be members of this committee. We promised to be transparent. We are not going to let the Governor and the state down.

More Afrika Eyes News  Somalia Women Struggle To Make Their Voices Heard In Politics

“We will put into consideration the people who are supposed to be given the palliatives: the deserving people. We are going to abide by the terms of reference and we will come clean with the public to let them know what we are doing. We will not let you down.”

Members of the committee are CP Adelesi; His Royal Highness Dr. Haliru Yahaya (OON); Abdulrasheed Shafi (DSS); Prof Hamzah Abdulraheem (Secretary General of JNI, Kwara State); Bishop Sunday Timothy Adewole (CAN); Dr Lawal Olohungbebe (CSO); Mrs Grace Funke Bolaji (CSO); Dr. Saudat AbdulBaqi; Stephen Owoyale; Comrade Yusuf Bashir (people living with disabilities); Binta Abubakar Mora (NUJ); and Abdulrahman Babatunde Ameen (Secretary).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News

To Top